Agriculture Water Quality Working Group

Minutes 2nd Meeting

Date: 19TH June 2023

9.45am to 1pm

Venue: The Killeshin Hotel, Portlaoise

Attendance: See Appendix I.

1. Welcome and Minutes of the Previous Meeting

The Chair (Bill Callanan) opened the meeting.

The draft minutes of the previous meeting were approved with any further comments to be

submitted by email to agwatergroup@agriculture.gov.ie before the next meeting.

2. Finalisation of Terms of Reference

A member suggested some further changes to the revised draft Terms of Reference (TOR).

Action: Edits to be made by DAFM and updated draft TOR to be circulated in advance of the

next meeting. Agreement on the Group's TOR will be sought at the next meeting.

3. Nitrogen surplus and losses to water - David Wall & Eddie Burgess, Teagasc

To better understand the current challenges with respect to nitrogen losses to waters, Eddie

Burgess and David Wall from Teagasc presented on the dynamics of nitrogen within Irish

agricultural systems. The focus was on understanding how nitrogen surplus can occur; and

where and when these surpluses are most at risk of being lost by leaching from grassland and

tillage systems.

Following discussions, the Group agreed to focus on three areas; 1) improving education

and awareness, 2) issues around compliance and 3) additional actions that can be

implemented with respect to nitrogen surpluses.

Preparation of a discussion paper was suggested to facilitate future discussion on these

points.

Action: DAFM Secretariat to initiate drafting of the discussion paper.

4. AOB and Date of next meeting

AOB

A presentation from the EPA was requested in light of recent publication of their Water Indicators Report for 2022. The chair will issue an invite to the EPA to present to the group.

Date of next meeting

EPA availability will be sought, and the group contacted with a date, time and location to meet.

Appendix 1: Agriculture Water Quality Working Group Attendance List 19th June 2023

Organisation	Representative in Attendance
IFA	Aine O'Connell (apologies from Tadhg Buckley)
IFA	Paul O'Brien
ICMSA	Denis Drennan
ICMSA	Alisha Ryan
ICSA	Eddie Punch
Irish Grain Growers	James Kelly
ICOS	Eamonn Farrell
ACORN	Barry Larkin
Meat Industry Ireland	Dale Crammond
Carbery	Aoife Healy
Dairygold	Ciara Donovan (apologies from Billy Cronin)
Tirlán	Thomas Ryan
Teagasc	David Wall
Teagasc	Edward Burgess
DHLGH	Marie Archbold
ACA	Tom Canning
LAWPRO	Anthony Coleman (apologies from Ruth Hennessy & Eoin McAleer)
An Forum Uisce	Matt Crowe
DAFM	Bill Callanan
DAFM	Ted Massey
DAFM	Noeleen McDonald
DAFM	Joanne Purcell
Apologies	
MACRA	Liam Hanrahan
Dairy Industry Ireland	Conor Mulvihill
INHFA	Thomas O'Toole
DHLGH	David Flynn