# Higher Education Temporary Tuition Fee Support Scheme for Displaced Persons (Ukraine) in academic year 2022/23 – Criteria

# Department of Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science 05 September 2022

The Higher Education Temporary Tuition Fee Support Scheme for Displaced Ukrainian Students in academic year 2022/23 is an administrative scheme of the Department of Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science.

For the purposes of this scheme, Displaced Ukrainian Students are:

- Persons qualified for protection under <u>Section 60</u> of the International Protection Act 2015 (including Ukrainian students who are currently registered as higher education students, on approved courses or authorised transition arrangements in approved publicly funded institutions in Ireland).
- Irish Nationals who were attending a higher education institution in the Ukraine during the 2021/2022 academic year; and have now returned to Ireland due to the conflict and have taken up a place on an authorised transition scheme during 2022/2023 academic year.

The Temporary Tuition Fee Support Scheme applies in relation to the provision of EU tuition fee supports for eligible students attending approved full-time undergraduate; full-time postgraduate or authorised transition schemes. To be eligible under this scheme students must meet the criteria set out hereunder and to any further criteria, or amendments which may be advised to the eligible institutions.

# 1 Nationality and Residency Criteria

- **1.1** In order to be considered for eligibility under this scheme and subject to compliance with the other conditions of the temporary scheme students must be:
  - a) a person
    - i. in respect of whom a permission to reside in the State has been granted by the Minister for Justice pursuant to section 60 of the International Protection Act 2015, or
    - ii. that is an Irish national who was attending a Higher Education Institution in the Ukraine during the 2021/2022 academic year and have now returned to Ireland due to the conflict without completing their course of study and has taken up a place on an authorised transition scheme during 22/23 [Appendix 1]

- b) present, and residing at an address, in the State, and
- c) attending, or intending to pursue, an approved course in the 2022-23 academic year.

#### 2 Determination of Eligibility

- **2.1** Eligibility under this scheme is determined at date of entry to the approved Higher Education course by the approved institution a student is attending [Appendix 1].
- **2.2** An eligible student may not, at any one time, qualify for EU Tuition fee supports under this scheme for more than one approved course of study.
- **2.3** EU tuition fees supports will be paid in respect only of students attending fulltime undergraduate; full-time postgraduate or authorised transition programmes at an approved institution [Appendix 1].
- **2.4** Tuition fees (undergraduate or postgraduate) will not be paid in respect of students who already hold a postgraduate qualification (Major Award) on the National Framework for Qualifications (NFQ).
- **2.5** Undergraduate tuition fees will not be paid in respect of students who already hold a level 8 (Major Award) on the National Framework of Qualification.
- **2.6** Notwithstanding conditions 2.4 and 2.5 and subject to compliance with the other conditions of the temporary scheme, students who already hold (on the National Framework of Qualifications) a Level 6 qualification or a Level 7 qualification and are progressing to a related Level 8 course without necessarily having received an exemption from the normal duration of the course may be deemed eligible for fee support.
- **2.7** The conditions 2.4, 2.5 and 2.6 do not apply to students who have taken up places on authorised transition schemes.

# 3. Tuition Fee supports payable

- 3.1 EU tuition fee supports will be paid in respect of eligible students under this scheme directly to institutions where eligible students are registered.
- 3.2 Full Time Undergraduate fees: The full EU tuition fees, including the student contribution, for all FFI approved courses in the temporary scheme will be paid.
- 3.3 Full Time Postgraduate fees: EU tuition fees of up to €6,270 for full time postgraduate courses at an approved institution (Appendix 1).

- 3.4 Authorised transition scheme students will be assessed on an individual basis by the institution attended and fee levels set in agreement with the Department.
- 3.5 The scheme only provides for tuition fee supports at 3.1, 3.2, 3.3 and 3.4 and does not provide for other fees charged by an institution, for example student levy or examination fees.

# 4 Scheme Duration

4.1 This scheme is an interim arrangement for the academic year 2022/23 only and will be subject to further consideration prior to academic year 2023/24.

# 5. Evidence to be provided to support eligibility

**5.1** When assessing eligibility for this scheme, higher education institutions must be satisfied that the applicant meets the criteria of the scheme. The onus is on the applicant to provide the evidence required by the higher education institution to ascertain eligibility.

05 September 2022

#### Institutions and courses to which this Scheme applies:

Full-time undergraduate and full-time postgraduate courses leading to a major award on the National Framework for Qualifications at the following institutions:

Atlantic Technological University Dublin City University Dún Laoghaire Institute of Art, Design and Technology Dundalk Institute of Technology Mary Immaculate College, Limerick Munster Technological University National College of Art and Design National University of Ireland, Galway Maynooth University St. Angela's College, Sligo South East Technological University **Technological University Dublin** Technological University Shannon: Midlands Mid-West Trinity College, Dublin University College Cork - National University of Ireland, Cork University College Dublin - National University of Ireland, Dublin University of Limerick

#### Limited approved courses only:

Full-time undergraduate courses approved under the Department of Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science Free Fees Initiative at the following institutions:

RCSI University of Medicine and Health Sciences National College of Ireland. Pontifical University of Maynooth. St. Patrick's College, Carlow. Coláiste Mhuire, Marino, Dublin (As approved and funded by Department of Education)

#### Authorised transition programmes

The Department is liaising with specific institutions in relation to authorised transition programmes for displaced Irish and Ukrainian students who were studying medicine and dentistry, which will be made available in due course.