

# **Mobile Phone & Broadband Taskforce**

Terms of Reference



#### **Objectives**

The objective of the Taskforce is to identify and overcome barriers to the deployment of fixed and mobile telecommunications services in the State, with particular regard to rural, isolated and under-served communities.

#### Membership

The membership of the Taskforce is set out at Appendix 1.

#### Terms of Reference

The Terms of Reference for the Taskforce are:

- To identify, recommend and implement practical actions that can be taken in the short, medium and long term to improve mobile and data services in Ireland, in consultation with Government Departments, Local Authorities, ComReg, State agencies, Industry and other key stakeholders;
- To publish an updated work programme annually; and
- To report annually to Government on the progress of the actions contained within the work programme.

The work of the Taskforce will support the ongoing rollout of broadband, including the National Broadband Plan network, and a particular emphasis will be placed on delivery of actions that implement the EU Connectivity Toolbox best practices relating to the further streamlining of permitting and licensing granting procedures, and the improvement of access to information regarding the availability of assets.

#### Frequency of meetings and Secretariat

It is intended that the Taskforce will meet formally twice per year with an Annual Stakeholder Forum being held in addition. The Annual Stakeholder Forum will bring together interested parties to discuss emerging issues relevant to the work of the Taskforce.

The Secretariat to the Taskforce will be provided on a rotating basis by the two co-ordinating departments: the Department of the Environment, Climate and Communications (D/ECC) and the Department of Rural and Community Development (D/RCD).

### **Sub-Groups**

The Taskforce may establish Sub-Groups to help progress its work.

Sub-Groups may co-opt additional members from outside the main Taskforce to assist in their work. The Secretariat should be advised of any additional members who it is proposed to co-opt onto a Sub-Group.

## **Expenditure**

The day-to-day costs of the Taskforce will be shared between the two co-ordinating departments.

# **Appendix 1 – Taskforce Membership**

Member	Organisation
Minister Heather Humphreys	Department of Rural and Community
(co-chair)	Development
Minister of State Ossian Smyth TD	Department of the Environment, Climate
(co-chair)	and Communications
Ciarán Ó hÓbáin, Assistant Secretary	Department of the Environment, Climate
	and Communications
Fintan O'Brien, Assistant Secretary	Department of Rural and Community
	Development
Eamonn Confrey, Principal Officer	Department of the Environment, Climate
	and Communications
Jake Ryan, Principal Officer	Department of Rural and Community
	Development
Timothy Ollry, Assistant Principal Officer	Department of Rural and Community
	Development
Terry Sheridan, Principal Officer	Department of Housing, Local Government
	& Heritage
Brian Loughlin, Assistant Principal Officer	Department of Housing, Local Government
	& Heritage
Yvonne Dalton, Assistant Principal Officer	Department of Housing, Local Government
	& Heritage
Eoghan O'Brien, Assistant Principal Officer	Department of Housing, Local Government
	& Heritage
Garret Doocey, Assistant Secretary	Department of Transport
John Coppinger, Principal Officer	Department of Transport
Paddy Mahon, CE Longford County	CCMA
Council	
Paul Fox	LGMA
Peter Burke	LGMA
Stephen Flynn	RMO

Orla Twomey, CEO	ASAI
Garrett Blaney, Commissioner	ComReg
Barbara Delaney, Director – Retail and Consumer Services	ComReg
Catherine Eddery, Principal Officer	Office of Public Works
Torlach Denihan, CEO	lbec TII
Emer Sherry, Senior Executive	lbec TII
Ronan Lupton, Chair	ALTO
Dan Lewis	Wireless Internet Service Providers (WISPs)

# Secretariat:

Member	Organisation
Jane Dooley, Administrative Officer	Department of the Environment, Climate and Communications
Etain Hobson, Administrative Officer	Department of Rural and Community  Development
Rachel Lawless, Clerical Officer	Department of the Environment, Climate and Communications